Skip to main content

The regional winners of this year’s Racing Post/SIS Betting Shop Manager of the Year competition have been revealed.

After an initial 48 finalists were selected, the top candidates from eight regions spanning Britain and Ireland were chosen after a mystery shop visit.

The Final 24 had been set for a treat with a day at the races at Haydock, but unfortunately due to Storm Babet and the forecast weather conditions across the country, the meeting and events were cancelled. Due to this late abandonment, several virtual interviews were booked with each manager, with Derek Thompson and the Judges to help decide who would become the eight Regional Champions.

After extensive deliberation between the judges, we are pleased to confirm that the competition’s final eight are:

Anglia and south-east

David Barcroft (Paddy Power)

Greater London

Gordon Champion (William Hill)


Jackie Kerr (Paddy Power)

Midlands and Wales

Danielle Baker (Coral)

North and north-east

Stacey Carnell (Ladbrokes)

North-west and Isle of Man

Andrew Lord (Coral)


Danny Morrison (Betfred)

South-west and Channel Islands

Ryan McNaught (Ladbrokes)

These regional winners will now advance to the final judging in London where one of them, will be crowned the Betting Shop Manager of the Year for 2023.

The ultimate winner will be revealed during the awards lunch on Monday 13th November which is being hosted at the prestigious Lords Cricket Ground and they will receive invitations to various prominent racing and betting events throughout their tenure as the reigning champion.

Wishing good luck to them all!