Skip to main content

The Final 48 for this year’s Racing Post/SIS Betting Shop Manager of the Year competition have been revealed.

The managers who advanced to the latest stage had a question paper marked before a judging panel delivered a final decision. Following this, the 48 contenders will receive a mystery shop visit, after which the top three candidates from each of the eight regions spanning Britain and Ireland will be chosen.

These selected 24 individuals will then be treated to a day at the races at Haydock in October, where they will meet the judges for the first time. From this event, eight champions, representing each region, will be selected.

Each Regional Champion, accompanied by a key member of their shop staff, will then attend the final judging in London. This stage will entail a question-and-answer session with the panel on the day before the Grand Final.

The awards lunch will then take place, with the winner being revealed. The Betting Shop Manager of the Year winner will be invited to various prominent racing and betting events throughout their tenure as the reigning champion.

Final 48 managers

Anglia and South-East

David Barcroft, Bury St Edmunds, Paddy Power; Matthew Bishop, Haywards Heath, Betfred; Katarzyna Ciolek, Luton, Paddy Power; Nick Evans, Brighton, Jenningsbet; Scott Gillard, Horsham, Coral; Sachin Parayankottuveettil, Rainham, Ladbrokes

Greater London

Gordon Champion, West Wickham, William Hill; Jacqueline Conlon, Norbury, Ladbrokes; Ishant Gurung, West Drayton, Jenningsbet; Teelotmah Ketaruth, Thayer Street, Ladbrokes; Farhin Rahman, Green Street, Paddy Power; Indeewari Warusamana, Bromley, Ladbrokes


Natasha Devlin, Cookstown, BoyleSports; Jackie Kerr, Dublin, Paddy Power; Paul McDaid, Carndonagh, Ladbrokes; Tracy McLaughlin, Strabane, Ladbrokes; Martin Prendergast, Downpatrick, Toals; Dwayne Symington, Dungannon, Toals

Midlands and Wales

Neil Ashmore, Arnold, Ladbrokes; Danielle Baker, Oswestry, Coral; Natalie Barry, Anglesey, Betfred; Roxanne Connelly, Coventry, Paddy Power; Ann Rose, Cradley Heath, BoyleSports; Colin Sumner, Rhyl, William Hill

North and North-East

Stacey Carnell, Barnsley, Ladbrokes; Lindsay Ferry, Newcastle, Betfred; Robert Fullard, Sheffield, William Hill; Arshad Hussain, Bradford, Coral; Tracey Maddison, Immingham, Coral; David Snowden, Sunderland, Paddy Power

North-west and Isle of Man

Phil Downes, Bolton, Paddy Power; Anita Johnson, Wirral, Ladbrokes; Andrew Lord, Accrington, Coral; Christopher O’Callaghan, Wigan, Betfred; Steven O’Malley, Levenshulme, Star Sports; Wendy Sutherland, Penrith, Betfred


Darrin Allinson, Galashiels, William Hill; Jackie Cairnduff, East Kilbride, William Hill; Paul Catterson, Glasgow, Coral; Lyndsay Chalmers, Cambuslang, Betfred; Marrianne Eley, Bellshill, Coral; Danny Morrison, Stranraer, Betfred

South-west and Channel Islands

Jason Gratton, Reading, Coral; Donna Hobbs, Swindon, William Hill; Ryan McNaught, Plymouth Ladbrokes; Adrian Rogers, Bath, William Hill; Lee Spink, Paignton, Betfred; Kelly Styles, Weymouth, Coral