Skip to main content

The final nominees for a one-off Betting Shop Champions Awards to celebrate the work of retail staff during the Covid-19 pandemic have been revealed.

The awards were launched in July following the cancellation of the annual Betting Shop Manager of the Year competition and were open to betting shop employees in Britain and Ireland. It is being run by the Racing Post and SIS.

A judging panel will now choose eight award winners from those selected and they will be recognised at a virtual ceremony on November 17. The panel includes Tanya Stevenson, Richard Hayler of Ibas, Helen Scott of SIS, former BHA chief executive Nick Rust and Jim Cremin.

When the awards were launched, Racing Post chief executive Alan Byrne said: “We have heard many stories of managers and other people in retail going above and beyond the call of duty to protect the health of their customers and their staff, and simply to keep their shops open for business in the face of the challenges the pandemic has imposed on us all.

“We want to salute those efforts and highlight the resilience and determination that so many people have shown.”

SIS chief executive Richard Ames added: “It’s been a very difficult time for the industry over the last 18 months, but during this period there will be countless stories of how betting shop managers and staff have gone above and beyond for their customers.

“We are very pleased to be part of these awards and want to recognise the efforts of those who have continued to offer outstanding service to their communities and our industry.

“Good luck to all those who are nominated and I look forward to celebrating our betting shop heroes at the awards.”

Betting Shop Champions Awards nominees:

Emma Agnew, Megabet, Consett 
Aundrea Augstine, Paddy Power, Hounslow
Claire Barnes, Coral, Stockport
Nuala Bracken, Ladbrokes, Belfast
Brian Connell, Ladbrokes, Tuam
Richard Darbyshire, Ladbrokes, Exeter
Angela Dinham, Star Sports, London
George Furmage, Ladbrokes, Stenhousemuir
Dale Harper, Paddy Power, Birmingham
Donna Harte, BoyleSports, Athlone
Stephen Harrison, William Hill, Middlesbrough
Keith Harvey, BoyleSports, Portstewart
Kevin Hawkes, William Hill, Worthing
Ruth Jones, Coral, Caernarfon
Gina Lake, Star Sports, Woodley
Leeanne Mallie & Emily Evans, Jenningsbet, Folkestone & Deal
Ranga Perera, Coral, London
Lynn Phelan, Coral, London
Raymond Robbins, Betfred, Gillingham
Benjamin Shaldon, William Hill, Exeter
Gordon Sinclair, Ladbrokes, Glasgow
Darren Thompson, Coral, Newbury
Jason Thorpe, Paddy Power, Mansfield
Luke Timmins, Betfred, Birmingham
Claire Tranter, Ladbrokes, Leeds.