Skip to main content

The field for this year’s Racing Post/SIS Betting Shop Manager of the Year competition has been reduced to 48.

The managers through to the latest stage had a question paper marked before a judging panel made a final decision. The 48 contenders will receive a mystery shopper visit after which the top three candidates from each of the eight regions in Britain and Ireland will be selected.

Those 24 will then spend a day at the races at Doncaster in October, where they will meet the judges for the first time. Eight regional champions will be chosen from this day.

Each regional champion, along with a key member of their shop staff, will then attend the final selection in London, which involves a question-and-answer session with the judges on the day before the final.

The final awards lunch takes place at the Carlton Tower Jumeirah in November and the winner will be invited to several key racing and betting events during their year as champion.

Final 48 managers

Anglia and south-east
David Barcroft, Paddy Power, Bury St Edmunds; Paul Callaway, Jenningsbet, Great Clacton; Josephine Donoghue, Coral, Farnborough; Emily Evans, Jenningsbet, Deal; Charlie Millard, Star Sports, Hythe; Adam Shimmen, Coral, Ramsgate

Greater London
Aaron Farmer, Ladbrokes, Tottenham; Noelia Fernandes, Betfred, Chiswick; James Maloney, Star Sports, Mayfair; Ranga Perera, Coral, Warren Street; Luke Starke, Paddy Power, Colindale; Danielle Westacott, William Hill, Carshalton

Stephanie Brown, BoyleSports, Cavan; Graham Fitzpatrick, Paddy Power, Carlow; Jason McDonald, BoyleSports, Keady; Patricia O’Sullivan, Paddy Power, Killarney; Maryanne Withers, Ladbrokes, Larne

Midlands and Wales
Hayley Hallam, Coral, Wolverhampton; David Parsons, Ladbrokes, Cardiff; Nicola Potts, Coral, Telford; William Sedgwick, Paddy Power, Handsworth; Debbie Spick, Betfred, Mansfield; Andrew Withington, William Hill, Ilkeston

North and north-east
Lisa Blake, Coral, Durham; Donna Faill, William Hill, Whitley Bay; Louise Fowler, Coral, Grimsby; Daniel James, Betfred, Sheffield; Melanie Puckrin, Ladbrokes, Middlesbrough; Emma Richardson, Betfred, Worksop; Mark Waldock, Paddy Power, Barnsley

North-west and Isle of Man
Paula Cooper, Ladbrokes, Chester; Aaron Coussell, Ladbrokes, Manchester; Gemma Grundon, Coral, Carlisle; Steven Haines, Betfred, Prescot; Paolo Temperini, Star Sports, Manchester

Ewan Bell, Betfred, Tranent; Paul Garvock, Paddy Power, Inverness; Michelle Green, Ladbrokes, Edinburgh; Rhys Jeffrey, Scotbet, Hawick; David Morley, William Hill, Glasgow; Margaret Taylor, Coral, Larkhall; Steven Ternent, William Hill, Musselburgh

South-west and Channel Islands
Karina Begley, William Hill, St Helier; Richard Darbyshire, Ladbrokes, Exeter; Penny Richmond, Jenningsbet, Andover; Scott Robbins, Star Sports, Bristol; Debbie Scotting, Coral, Basingstoke; Jacqueline Wilkinson, Paddy Power, Swindon