Final Eight confirmed for BSMOTY 2017

The final eight betting shop managers have been confirmed for the SIS/Racing Post Betting Shop Manager of the Year 2017 (BSMOTY).

The managers, who will represent eight regions from across Great Britain and Northern Ireland have been selected after a series of judging rounds including question papers and mystery shop visits. The latest judging round took place in Doncaster where all 23 finalists were interviewed on camera and were also assessed by the judges on their personal and professional attributes.

The panel were then tasked with deciding on a winner for each region, and we can now confirm that the final eight are as follows:

Anglia & South East
Mark Gamble, Cambridge, Ladbrokes
Greater London
Ron Hearn, Charlton, JenningsBet
Conchur O’Rawe, Belfast, Ladbrokes
Midlands & Wales
Adrian Ward, Walsall, Paddy Power Betfair
North East
Elaine Carter, Consett, Megabet
North West & Isle of Man
Claire Doyle, Liverpool, William Hill
Will O’Neill, Aberdeen, Ladbrokes
South West & Channel Islands
Kenny Smith, Bournemouth, Coral

Paul Witten, Product Director at SIS, said: “I’d like to congratulate the Final eight on their progress so far. They have come through a thorough process and now are entering the final stage.

“The list represents a diverse mix of major chains and independent shops from city centres and suburban areas, and demonstrates the strength of the retail sector at present.”

Final judging will take place at the Jumeirah Carlton Tower Hotel, Knightsbridge from November 19-20th, with managers undergoing a final interview along with their assistant managers. The successor to Robert Mabbett, BSMOTY 2016 champion, will be announced after judging has been completed at an awards ceremony on 20th November.

For more information on the final eight contenders for BSMOTY 2017, please click here.